Can’t Scare Me: The Story of Mother Jones

Theater of the First Amendment

Mother Jones 2 TFA Logo
Friday, October 14, 2011 - Sunday, October 30, 2011

 

A TFA World Premiere written and performed by Kaiulani Lee

“Mark Twain says that history doesn’t repeat itself, but it does rhyme,”
according to Mother Jones, as brought to life by OBIE Award-winner
Kaiulani Lee in this brave new work about the formative days of the
American labor movement.  Called “the most dangerous woman in America,”
Mother Jones “educated, agitated, and organized” on behalf of child
laborers, coal miners, steel workers, and all working people.  Through
an artful blend of history, biography, and a liberal dose of Mother
Jones’s famous wit, “Can’t Scare Me” brings out some urgent “rhymes” of
yesterday and today in a riveting, passionate, and fiery solo performance.

Wednesday, October 12, 2011 at 8:00 PM*
Thursday, October 13, 2011 at 8:00 PM*
Friday, October 14, 2011 at 8:00 PM
Saturday, October15, 2011 at 2:00 PM & 8:00 PM
Sunday, October 16, 2011 at 2:00 PM

Thursday, October 20, 2011 8:00 PM
Friday, October 21, 2011 at 8:00 PM
Saturday, October 22, 2011 at 2:00 PM & 8:00 PM
Sunday, October 23, 2011 at 2:00 PM
Thursday, October 27, 2011 8:00 PM
Friday, October 28, 2011 at 8:00 PM
Saturday, October 29, 2011 at 2:00 PM & 8:00 PM
Sunday, October 30, 2011 at 2:00 PM

*Preview Performances – Pay What You Can at the door